a4086852662_16ARTIST: Tonemirror

RELEASE: Fever Dreams

RELEASE DATE: 18th November 2016


Toronto based noisy shoegaze duo ‘Tonemirror’ have unleashed their six track debut EP ‘Fever Dreams’ to the masses via their bandcamp page. The band exploded onto the underground scene back in June 2016 with their debut single & Primal Radio fav ‘Supermoon’ and pretty soon caught the attention of a fair few online radio Dj’s with their no nonsense, hard hitting blend of noisy shoegaze underscored with post-hardcore tendencies and coupled vocally with subtle dream-pop sensibilities! The band are made up of Jake Lehman – guitar/vocals & Robby Sedran – drums and the ‘Fever Dreams’ EP is available to buy/download right to from:tonemirror.bandcamp.com

Jangling guitars and echoing reverberation announces the arrival of ‘Lost’ and it’s gloriously evident to me that these guys love brash & fuzzy frequencies. The drums erupt as those swirling guitar progressions wrap themselves around a brilliantly executed vocal and drag this track through walls of noise & crashing cymbal splashes. Up next, ‘Smile’ swirls woozily into earshot on a wave of almost ethereal sounding guitar and above all I’m instantly hooked with just how live the drum track sounds! It’s impressively explosive and injects atmosphere into the entire track as it’s vocal track arrives, held fast within an addictive slacker vibe that is brilliantly reminiscent at times to early 90’s shoegaze stalwarts ‘Swervedriver’. Track three has captivated me ever since I first heard it back in June. ‘Supermoon’ builds & creeps like a stalking animal as those guitars weave a shimmering sonic web of reverberation and instil a blissful edge to proceedings. They spread out and envelope the hi-hat heavy percussive attack with ease allowing the vocal line to bleed into every facet of the tracks instrumentation. A stunning track and possibly my favourite on this entire release.

‘Drag Me’ announces itself on a tremulous frequential cloud as those jazz like percussive hits skittishly arrive coupled with another impressive vocal track. It’s not long before the track explodes and pulls you into its soaring chorus, filled with lead licks, psychedelic swirls, mind bending reverberation and driving guitar drones. The EP’s penultimate piece is growling, noisy beast! ‘XYZ’ drives and pulses angry guitars steadied by explosive percussion and wailing vocals that collectively creates a massive wall of highly addictive fuzzy noise. Absolutely immense! ‘Fever Dreams’ closes out out with ‘Asomnia’, a skulking forlorn passage filled with dark, atmospheric instrumentation and wailing vocalisations courtesy of Jake Lehman. A fitting ending to a rather impressive debut EP.






Del Chaney has spent the last four years not only fronting popular experimental Irish based electronic duo Analogue Wave but also dedicating his time to uncovering the best artists in the unsigned or small independent label based shoegaze, ethereal dream pop, post punk, post rock & modern psych rock from all over the globe & reviewing them for this blog – The Primal Music Blog. He is also a contributing writer for The Sound Of Confusion. His other arm – Primal Radio – has gained considerable respect from bands and promoters alike since its conception in 2013 & has helped him in actively promoting a genre of music that he is passionate about. Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, he is a keen Vinyl Collector, Tattoo Fan & all round good guy! He is a self confessed music freak & is never far away from a studio console or a turntable.