Landing - Taeppe EP - Post Image - (300x300)ARTIST: Landing 


RELEASE DATE: 27th June 2017

RECORD COMPANY: Structure vs Chaos Music (SESAC)

Fantastic Connecticut based lo-fi shoegaze quartet ‘Landing’ have announced a brand new three track cassette in the guise of the  ‘Taeppe’ EP , released to coincide with their 2017 tour which has just kicked off and will run all the way to July 12th taking in Northampton, Hamilton, Detroit, Indianapolis, St. Louis, Minneapolis, Des Moines, Austin, New Orleans, Atlanta, Raleigh, Salt Lake City & Washington D.C. The band create blissful sonic soundscapes that are filled with hazy shoegaze highs and jaw dropping ethereal vocalisations coupled with experimental twists and lashings of glorious reverberation. The band on this release are made up of Adrienne Snow – vocals, Daron Gardner – bass/drones,  Aaron Snow – guitar/synth/drums/bass/vocals, Kryssi Battalene – guitar on Side A & John Miller – drums on ‘Together’. You can buy/download this latest release digitally right now from  or if you are one of the lucky folk who get to see them play live, the cassette version is released by Vast Arc Hues in an edition of 50 and will be available at shows on their summer 2017 tour.

Reverberating drones coupled with fizzing effected fret noise collectively move and undulate in a dense sonic fog as faint hints of melody punctuates through subtle feedback and the odd pull of guitar notes. ‘Page After Page’ unfurls it’s enveloping frequencies, gradually building momentum as it peels back each individual musical layer before pulsing a beautifully intense wall of glistening vibration out into the ether in one great big wave, enveloping Adrienne’s haunting vocals in the process. It’s subtle percussion keeps an almost ethereal tempo as the wash of luscious guitars surge and break through layer after layer of stunning production. Instrumentally, ‘Page After Page’ pulls you inwards and keeps you transfixed on all eight minutes of this fantastic opening salvo. Up next, ‘Tape’ explodes into a cacophony of golden hued frequencies as tremulous guitars, augmenting synth swells and the repetitive whoosh of hi-hat’s swirl and meld effortlessly with beautifully entrancing vocalisations, the gentle hum of bass frequencies and sublime production. ‘Tape’ is my favourite track on the entire release. It’s a blissed out sonic adventure that will have you forgetting daily life as you float skywards into the abyss.

The EP closes out with ‘Together’, a snapshot of dreamy sonic escapism. A hazy wall of steady drums, cascading bass lines and fuzzy reverberation glisten and shine as jangling progressions mix with melodious lead lines to collectively circumnavigate another shimmering vocal take. ‘Landing’ tease us with their old school shoegazing tendencies half way through as the track explodes into a driving mass of blissful noise drenched in simmering instrumental melody that loops and arcs brilliantly throughout the the entire piece. This flight of fancy is quickly tamed however as the band pull the plug and dump us headlong into a finale of fading incandescent sound waves.





Del Chaney - (Author Photo)

Del Chaney has spent the last five years dedicating his time to uncovering the best artists in the unsigned or small independent label based shoegaze, ethereal dream pop, post punk & modern psych rock from all over the globe & reviewing them for this blog – The Primal Music Blog. He is also a contributing  writer for The Sound Of Confusion (Now On Hiatus). His other arm  – Primal Radio –  has gained considerable respect from bands and promoters alike since its conception in 2013 & has helped him in actively promoting a genre of music that he is passionate about. Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, he is a keen Vinyl Collector, Tattoo Fan & all round good guy! He is a self confessed music freak & is never far away from a studio console or a turntable.