RELEASE DATE: 14th May 2018


Texas-based sonic manipulators ‘DAZE’ create a heady concoction of fuzzed out heavy shoegaze melded brilliantly with intensely melancholic transitions and noisier alternative leanings that are addictively reminiscent of early Swervedriver or ‘Silver’ era Starflyer 59. The band are made up of Nikki – guitar/vocals, Abraham – guitar, Enrique – drums & Jon- bass. Their latest five track EP entitled ‘Ritual’ was officially released back on the 14th May 2018 and is available to buy/download right now from

‘Joven’ drives into the ether straddling a thunderous percussive assault circumnavigated by throbbing bass frequencies and the melodic pull of tremulous guitars. Beautiful vocalisations arrive meandering in and out of noisy sonic passages as we begin to dip and rise through layers of heavy guitars and catchy chord structures before tumbling through an immense finale. Deeply melancholic, ‘Joven’ instantly impresses and is a marvellous opening salvo indeed. Up next, ‘Another Day’ creeps into audible range swirling on a golden hued guitar progression. Humming lines of bass flutter and whirr just below that off-kilter drum pattern as another impressive vocal take hovers just above the layer of reverb. It’s here that we’re guided through a melancholic vocal narrative as the verse progressions play out before that huge chorus explodes into a kaleidoscope of noise and we dive headlong into a whirling sonic tempest. ‘Another Day’ is impressive and a definite EP highlight. ‘Guilty’ leans more into alt-rock territory with subtle flourishes of noisier rock but it’s those clearer moments filled with little melodic guitar progressions enveloping the vocal track that catch the ear here.

‘Temper’, the EP’s penultimate piece, is a wonderful track. Rolling tom tom hits rumble and dance as jangling guitars swirl effortlessly in amongst hazy clouds of reverb, the smooth vocal take riding cascading lines of bass and those dizzily catchy chord changes that surge and lull with ease. The introduction of subtle acoustic vibes inject this track with some psychedelic atmospherics and that as far as I’m concerned only enhances it’s overall addictiveness. ‘Ritual’ closes out with ‘Sleep’, a bounding post-punk esque sonic behemoth. An immense bass line holds court here acting like the central pillar as those swirling guitars intertwine with another impressive vocal line and the intricate fills of percussion build in intensity. As we fall headlong into a stunning break half way through we get caught in a web of twinkling reverberation as the track begins it’s final build and it’s then that we’re fired headlong out of the back end and on into the tracks death throws. It’s a brilliant ending to a great little EP. It’ll be very interesting to hear what comes next from this quartet.




Del Chaney - (Author Photo)

Del Chaney has spent the last five years dedicating his time to uncovering the best artists in the unsigned or small independent label based shoegaze, ethereal dream-pop, postpunk & modern psych rock from all over the globe & reviewing them for this blog – The Primal Music Blog. He is also a contributing writer for The Sound Of Confusion (Now On Hiatus). His other arm  – Primal Radio –  has gained considerable respect from bands and promoters alike since its conception in 2013 & has helped him in actively promoting genres of music that he is passionate about. Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, he is a keen Vinyl Collector, Tattoo Fan & all round good guy! He is a self confessed music freak & is never far away from a studio console or a turntable.