ARTIST: Blushing 


RELEASE DATE: 18th January 2018

RECORD COMPANY: Austin Town Hall Records 

It’s been a year or so since we last heard from Austin based dream-gaze quartet ‘Blushing’. The band are made up of two husband and wife pairs, Christina Carmona – vocals/bass, Michelle Soto – guitar/vocals, Noe Carmona – guitar/keyboard/vocals & Jake Soto – drums and their dreamy ethereal tones first came to the fore back in January 2017 on their four track self-released debut EP ‘Tether’ and since then the band have gone from strength to strength by signing to ‘Austin Town Hall Records’ and now returning with their highly anticipated sophomore release. ‘Weak’ is a massive step forward in their overall development as a band. It’s five luscious tracks are filled with dreamy shimmering soundscapes, precise layered musicianship and well crafted songs that are all enveloped by absolutely sublime vocalisations. The EP gets it’s official release via Austin Town Hall Records on January 18th 2018 and is available to pre-order right now from both and respectfully.

‘Weak’ opens up with it’s title track and we’re soon swooning to it’s beautifully intense opening vocals tethered to textured guitars drenched in swirling reverb. Subtle synth swells bubble up below the mix before the track explodes into a kaleidoscope of sonic colours as ‘Blushing’ unleash a blissed out sonic concoction of catchy guitars, humming bass and steadying percussion. Hook laden chorus progressions soar and glide effortlessly before we’re pulled into a beautiful instrumental break that builds ever so slowly, gaining momentum with each progression until eventually exploding into a huge shoegaze tinged masterpiece. This is absolutely immense, a huge step forwards in sound and production and a fantastic opening salvo indeed. Up next, ‘Hidden Places’ unfurls it’s sonic tendrils and instantly catches the ear with it’s panned guitars and punchy drum pattern. Throbbing bass frequencies meld effortlessly with the strum of guitar as swirling reverberations intertwine with throughly addictive vocal lines. ‘Hidden Places’ is a glorious affair that surges into catchy chorus breaks filled with shimmering frequencies and glistening production values.

‘Bliss’ jangles into audible range quivering on a jangling guitar strum, drenched in delayed reverb. Synth lines sway and move angelically, alongside the deep penetrating hum of bass and a full sounding drum kit. Again, I’m mesmerised by those melodically beautiful vocal tones and the way they float and eddy atop of the collective instrumentation and those immense chord changes that seem catch this listeners breath and instantly pull you into every single note. ‘Bliss’ is a mesmerising track and definitely one of highlights on the entire release. Up next, ‘Blushing’ unleash the heaviest track on the album and probably their most ‘shoegaze’ orientated one too. ‘Bound’, the albums penultimate track, explodes into a melee of sonic waves as it moves a massive wave of sound before it, caused at first by the deep boom of bass accompanied by explosive percussion and driving guitars and quickly nullified by another impressive vocal performance that seems to calm proceedings down by ushering in some dreamier vibes. It moves slowly, carried throughout by jangling guitars and swooning percussion as cascading bass frequencies wash over everything. It’s verse parts are sublime but it’s the chorus progressions where things get very, very interesting. ‘Bound’ is a clear sign for me that ‘Blushing’ as a band have at last honed the skill of songwriting and are now on top of their game.

The album closes out hovering blissfully on the throb of heady bass frequencies and the swoosh of reverb tinged guitars. ‘Love You Twice’ is a luscious slice of melodic dream-pop dipped in exquisite reverberation and layered at times with sticky shoegaze finery. It’s immensely addictive and filled to the brim with swirling instrumentation that will leave you floored. ‘Love You Twice’ is a fitting book-end to what is a marvellous sophomore release. Bravo ‘Blushing’.




Del Chaney - (Author Photo)

Del Chaney has spent the last five years dedicating his time to uncovering the best artists in the unsigned or small independent label based shoegaze, ethereal dream pop, post punk & modern psych rock from all over the globe & reviewing them for this blog – The Primal Music Blog. He is also a contributing writer for The Sound Of Confusion (Now On Hiatus). His other arm  – Primal Radio –  has gained considerable respect from bands and promoters alike since its conception in 2013 & has helped him in actively promoting a genre of music that he is passionate about. Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, he is a keen Vinyl Collector, Tattoo Fan & all round good guy! He is a self confessed music freak & is never far away from a studio console or a turntable.