ARTIST: Lunar Grave

RELEASE: The Sunstruck Forest

RELEASE DATE: 5th January 2018

RECORD COMPANY: Cardinal Fuzz Records / Sky Lantern Records

Portland’s ‘Lunar Grave’ have undergone some personnel changes since their inception back in 2010, releasing various outings on home grown cassette tapes, CDr’s and digitally in that time building up to this debut seven track vinyl release. Their sound centres around driving krautrock, deliciously infused with free flowing transcendent psych and hypnotic grooves that collectively create something akin to an out of body experience in sonic form. It was officially released back on the 5th January 2018 via the good folks over at Cardinal Fuzz Records and Sky Lantern Records respectively with editions still available on various formats through and

Bouncing bass signatures accompanied by a huge percussive assault announces the arrival of ‘Piper In The Woods’, the opening salvo on this impressive collection of tracks. The drum and bass assault continues for a time before ‘Piper In The Woods’ opens up into a full on assault on the senses. Soaring lead guitar meanders in and out of that solid drum & humming bass line combo leading us on a metronomic dance to the tracks finale. Up next, ‘JJ-180’ slows proceedings down a tad as a swirling concoction of soothing bass frequencies and luscious reverb stick to slow moving percussion and the lull of immense guitar sounds, continuously moving through a trance like state whilst ‘Collapsed Horizon’ is an impressive live jam that shudders and shakes through repetitious drum tracks, throbbing bass lines and resonating lead guitar. The sonic tendrils of ‘Slow Death’ unfurl, reach out and wrap themselves around the inner psyche as repetitious guitars swim and move through hypnotic reverberation buffered by slow moving bass frequencies and the slow march of percussion. ‘Slow Death’ is infectious. It lures you in with it’s soothing sonic repetitions, carefully rocking you back and forth before gracefully implanting you deep in it’s inner core. It’s a triumphant track and possibly my favourite on the entire release.

‘Kykeon’ builds from the off as meticulous layering of guitars meander into audible range strapped to an almost motorik percussive swagger and the pull of bass notes, swaying back and forth like a pendulum deftly instilling hypnotically charged psychedelic impressions with every twist and turn. The entire track moves as one singular being, a sonic murmuration of sorts spilling technicolour sound-waves at a whim. ‘Kykeon’ is sublime and another highlight here. We take a quick sojourn as the fifty seconds of ‘The Mold’ spills it’s guts before we’re whooshed into the albums closing piece. Coming in at a whopping eleven minutes plus, ‘2-3-74’ isn’t for the faint of heart. Woozy instrumentation hugs a monolithic bass signature as lead guitars wrap themselves around a slow moving drum pattern, looping and arcing in and out of catchy bass progressions, drum fills and yards of stunning reverberation. It’s intensely hypnotic, spiritual even as it builds and builds into a raging cacophony of psychedelic noise that floats out into the sonic ether and on into a marvellous finale. It’s a fitting ending to a wonderful album.




Del Chaney - (Author Photo)

Del Chaney has spent the last five years dedicating his time to uncovering the best artists in the unsigned or small independent label based shoegaze, ethereal dream pop, post punk & modern psych rock from all over the globe & reviewing them for this blog – The Primal Music Blog. He is also a contributing writer for The Sound Of Confusion (Now On Hiatus). His other arm  – Primal Radio –  has gained considerable respect from bands and promoters alike since its conception in 2013 & has helped him in actively promoting a genre of music that he is passionate about. Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, he is a keen Vinyl Collector, Tattoo Fan & all round good guy! He is a self confessed music freak & is never far away from a studio console or a turntable.