ALBUM REVIEW - Lumerians - Call Of the Void - Post Image - (300x300)ARTIST: Lumerians 

RELEASE: Call Of The Void

RELEASE DATE: 22nd June 2018

RECORD COMPANY: Fuzz Club Records 

Oakland-based psychonauts ‘Lumerians’ create a mind-bending hypnotic brew filled to the brim with parts procured from various music genres such as experimental psychedelia, space rock, krautrock, noise rock, drone rock, electronica & dub. The resulting concoction is a thrilling excursion into the mystical & futuristic realms of contemporary psychedelia. Formed in San Francisco back in 2006 by Chris Musgrave – drums/percussion, Jason Miller – vocals/synth/organ/guitar, Marc Melzer – vocals/bass/synth and Tyler Green – guitar/synth/keys, the band relocated to Oakland just before the release of their debut album ‘Transmalinnia’, building their own recording studio called New Telos Sound in a former church. They released their sophomore LP ‘The High Frontier’ back in 2013 and two collections of improvised compositions called ‘Transmission from Tellos III & IV’. They have also shared the stage with bands such as My Bloody Valentine, Killing Joke and Black Moth Super Rainbow. Now after a four year hiatus the band have returned with their third ‘official’ studio album entitled ‘Call Of The Void’. The album is released on June 22nd 2018 via Fuzz Club Records and is dedicated to the memory of Barrett Clark, ‘Lumerians’ long-time friend, sound engineer and collaborator who passed away in the tragic Ghost Ship warehouse fire in Oakland 2016. ‘Call of the Void’ is available to pre-order right now on various formats via both respectively.

The fizz of melodic electronics merge brilliantly with those swirling instrumental drones as ‘Fuck All Y’all’ arrives to permeate the ether accompanied by the slow pull of percussion and the deep throb of bass frequencies. Repetitive organ notes hover and glide just above the sonic melee whipped by tightly wound lines of lead guitar as we’re led into a magnificent break and momentarily guided out it’s back end by the lull of squally guitars and that hypnotically a-tuned metronomic tempo. ‘Fuck All Y’all’ serves up a sonic tonic to cure all ills and is a blistering opening salvo indeed. Up next, ‘Silver Trash’ pounds into existence on repetitive threads of motorik percussion as swirling synths meander through cascading lines of bass. Woozy guitars cling closely to that explosive drum track allowing the surge of electronic instrumentation, drenched in effects, to bring lines of vocal into audible range, all balancing precariously on top of tumbling swells of organ and whirring lines of lead guitar. ‘Silver Trash’ is a triumph, it’s absolutely phenomenal and a definite stand out piece on this album.

‘Space Curse’ bounces into the ether in a 70’s krautrock haze. Filled with intermittent bleeps and whirrs this track rocks steadily on a bedrock of rolling percussion as various analogue synths pulse lines of catchy chord sequences across booming bass frequencies deftly accompanied by fascinating lines of vocal whilst ‘Signal’ starts small but builds incrementally into a droning sonic behemoth filled with intense melody, ambient strewn breaks and lines upon lines of sequenced electronics. ‘Fictional’ rattles into the ether on a pounding drum track accompanied by hypnotically addictive bass progressions and soaring lines of synth. Duel vocal’s glide brilliantly here all enveloped by the swirling sonic maelstrom, adding squealing guitars and layers of stylish reverberation as fizzing electronica meets metronomic krautrock and collectively dives headlong into a broiling melee of lysergic tinged modern psychedelia.

‘Masters Call’ glides into audible range swirling on an instrumental drone as layers of reverb reach out to slow it’s momentum. Tumbling percussion accompanies booming pulls of bass as sequenced synths arrive to accompany those edgy lines of vocal merging brilliantly into one surging wave of psych induced electronica whilst the albums penultimate piece entitled ‘Ghost Notes’ is deeply atmospheric. Huge swells of reverberation embraces menacing lines of synth, rolling percussion and heady waves of bass frequencies as it’s entrancing vocal’s arrive meandering in and out of angry guitars and overpowering instrumental progressions eventually crescendoing into a magnificent bass led break that builds and builds all over again. ‘Ghost Notes’ is fascinating and another album highlight for me. ‘Call Of The Void’ closes out with ‘Clock Spell’ and instantly arrives strapped to a droning analogue signal and a slow moving line of structured percussion. Catchy electronic bleeps and whirrs accompany layers of reverb that seem to rise and fall brilliantly alongside those hypnotic vocalisations. It’s a blistering ending to a wonderful album.




Del Chaney - (Author Photo)

Del Chaney has spent the last five years dedicating his time to uncovering the best artists in the unsigned or small independent label based shoegaze, ethereal dream pop, postpunk & modern psych rock from all over the globe & reviewing them for this blog – The Primal Music Blog. He is also a contributing writer for The Sound Of Confusion (Now On Hiatus). His other arm  – Primal Radio –  has gained considerable respect from bands and promoters alike since its conception in 2013 & has helped him in actively promoting genres of music that he is passionate about. Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, he is a keen Vinyl Collector, Tattoo Fan & all round good guy! He is a self confessed music freak & is never far away from a studio console or a turntable.