ARTIST: Rancho Relaxo

RELEASE: Polarized

RELEASE DATE: 10th May 2017

RECORD COMPANY: Wrong Way Records

One of our favourite bands here at Primal Music, Norwegian based ‘Rancho Relaxo’ have announced a brand new five track EP entitled ‘Polarized’, penned in for release on May 10th 2017 via the ever reliable ‘Wrong Way Records’. ‘Polarized’ is the bands eight release & it again epitomises their unique talent of sonic experimentation by creating whirlwinds of intense electronically charged psych intertwined at times with subtle spaced out kraut rock tones. The album has the pleasure of being touched by the bands brand new 60’s rhythm ace drum machine which completely turns their overall sound on it’s head thus creating a sublime collection of tracks that are worthy of your ears. It is being exclusively released as part of ‘Wrong Way Records’ Blacklist 100 Series and is available to pre-order right now on lovely 12′ hand numbered black vinyl via

‘Spooky Satisfaction At A Distance’ arrives into the ether held fast in a repetitious percussive swagger as its soaring synth swells echo and drone meticulously as if held in a continuous sonic stasis. Angry guitars growl and belch out distorted atmospherics whilst its haunting vocalisations swirl through swathes of gratifying reverberation. It is a sublime opening track filled with intensely hypnotic instrumentation that streams effortlessly through layers of blissed out electronically charged modern psychedelia. ‘Augen Zu’ drones and swirls into audible range strapped to sequenced electronic percussion and a deeply repetitive guitar progression. This track builds through each chord change brilliantly as underlying synth swells buffer and harass those hypnotically charged vocal lines with stunning aplomb. The arrival shimmering tambourine hits and undulating shakers add instant atmosphere as those cascading synth lines loop and arc through clouds of reverb like some sort of sonic hallucinogen. ‘Augen Zu’ is sublimely addictive and is probably my favourite track on this entire release.

Up next, ‘Life & Death’ billows effortlessly through infectious guitar progressions, gyrating organ lines and distant vocalisations that collectively ripple and surge through spiralling production and woozy denouements whilst swirling frequency laden sonic tendrils reach out to wrap themselves around sequenced electronic drum patterns as ‘Tell Me Something’ enters earshot draped in a hazy veil of droning instrumentation that melds effortlessly with atmospheric swells of synth & guitar. The arrival of distant reverb drenched vocalisations add depth to the track as it’s snaking percussive thrills dance and skip on a bedrock of iridescent bass frequencies and vibrating mechanical sound waves. The EP’s closing piece growls and fizzes into earshot on a wave of punishing feedback driven guitar squall. ‘My Girl (Spoken)’ shudders precariously on a kind of metronomic percussive precipice as throbbing bass frequencies hold court underlined by electronic beeps and whirrs that accompany an up front vocal line. Noisy guitars circumnavigate the entire piece emitting a menacing atmospheric hue to proceedings as the track rises and falls hypnotically through stunning vocal samples and swirling clouds of reverberation. A fitting end to a bloody marvellous EP.




Del Chaney has spent the last four years dedicating his time to uncovering the best artists in the unsigned or small independent label based shoegaze, ethereal dream pop, post punk, post rock & modern psych rock from all over the globe & reviewing them for this blog – The Primal Music Blog. He is also a contributing writer for The Sound Of Confusion (Now On Hiatus). His other arm – Primal Radio – has gained considerable respect from bands and promoters alike since its conception in 2013 & has helped him in actively promoting a genre of music that he is passionate about. Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, he is a keen Vinyl Collector, Tattoo Fan & all round good guy! He is a self confessed music freak & is never far away from a studio console or a turntable.