ARTIST: Hawkeyes / Radiation Flowers


RELEASE DATE: 7th July 2017

RECORD COMPANY: Sunmask / Cardinal Fuzz

Ontario based heavy psych aficionados ‘Hawkeyes’ have joined forces with Saskatoon natives ‘Radiation Flowers’ on a brand new five track ‘Split EP’ that is absolutely immense. Stacked with massive walls of hypnotic acid drenched noise ‘Hawkeyes’ formed back in 2012 (apparently out of sheer boredom) and began self-releasing tracks on cassette before their debut album ‘Poison Slows You Down’ was picked up by Helmet Lady Records back in 2015. ‘Radiation Flowers’ on the other hand create spacious psychedelically charged shoegaze permeated at times by edgier, fuzzier moments of sonic contemplation accompanied by floating vocalisations that hark back to that early 4AD sound. The album gets it’s full release on the 7th July 2017 via ‘Sunmask’ and the ever reliable Cardinal Fuzz Records and it available to pre-order right now on colour vinyl with full colour printed inner sleeve via

‘Hawkeyes’ open up proceedings with the first of two tracks; ‘Atom Heart Motherfuckers Never Learn’ swirls into audible range stuck firm to a warbling atmospheric guitar progression steeped in hypnotic reverberations. Sparse flourishes of cymbal and fizzing fret noise pull a massive surge of instrumentation into play as growling guitars, humming bass and steady percussion gently pushes us out into a turbulent sonic sea. Wailing lead lines whip up a sonic frenzy as a pulsing metronomic procession of drums and bass keep up a steady tempo for eight minutes plus, acting like some sort of sonic chariot meandering through layer after layer of spaced out grooves and ambient hued textures before ‘Hawkeyes’ briefly slip their spaced out ambient leanings and explode into a riotous sonic behemoth filled with darker, heavier guitar progressions and explosive accompanying instrumentation, goading the listener with their impressive mind bending production. All in all this is a massive opening salvo. Their second track entitled ‘Creator Destroyer’ floats into earshot on a wave of intense atmosphere deftly enveloped in beautifully textured acoustic guitar progressions and hushed vocal tones. That illusion is quickly shattered however as they explode into a cacophony of fuzz and reverb. Soaring lead guitars intertwine with delay & the pull of wah-wah to create a claustrophobic wall of hypnotic sound that builds and builds, tumbling brilliantly through rolling percussion and driving bass frequencies before culminating in a wind swept spoken word finale.

‘The Radiation Flowers’ unfurl ’33 Floors Up’, a pulsating sonic behemoth that pounds its way through the ether on a resonating wave of instrumentation swirling magnificently through layer after layer of tantalising reverberations. Soaring guitars traverse huge organ swells and there’s no let up to the meandering whip of turbulent frequencies as this track explodes into the ether. Up next, ‘Always On the Ground’ bounds into earshot rocking giddily on a throbbing bass progression before squally synth hits add a sliver of comedy. Off kilter percussion drags itself into the mix accompanied by luscious lead guitars drenched in subtle feedback, effected fret noise and lashings of reverb. The collective instrumentation builds into a rolling wash of sound as beautifully translucent vocalisations ebb and flow into earshot underscored by an off putting organ drone before huge swathes of noise erupt, adding blistering atmospheric depth that seems undulates on that bouncing bass line. The album closes out with ‘Never Fade’ as ‘The Radiation Flowers’ meld tremulous shoegaze & indie rock with 60’s psych flair. Surging organ swells ride a steady drum pattern as swirling lead guitar lines wrap themselves around another impressive vocal performance. Catchy chorus changes coupled with intricate guitar progressions keep this listener interested as the band inject some serious jolts of melody into proceedings. A fantastic ending to a rather interesting split release.




Del Chaney - (Author Photo)

Del Chaney has spent the last five years dedicating his time to uncovering the best artists in the unsigned or small independent label based shoegaze, ethereal dream pop, post punk & modern psych rock from all over the globe & reviewing them for this blog – The Primal Music Blog. He is also a contributing  writer for The Sound Of Confusion (Now On Hiatus). His other arm  – Primal Radio –  has gained considerable respect from bands and promoters alike since its conception in 2013 & has helped him in actively promoting a genre of music that he is passionate about. Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, he is a keen Vinyl Collector, Tattoo Fan & all round good guy! He is a self confessed music freak & is never far away from a studio console or a turntable.