RELEASE: Gazing Into The Sun

RELEASE DATE: 5th May 2017

RECORD COMPANY: Shoegaze Sanctuary Records

Not ones for resting on their laurels and currently one of the best resources for underground sounds from shoegaze to psych-gaze and beyond, the fantastic ‘Shoegazer Sanctuary Records’ have returned with another stunning twenty track compendium of worldwide underground artists that’s fit to bursting with simmering feedback laden goodness to whet your insatiable sonic appetite. After the success of his ‘Gazing Into Andromeda’ compilation series Joe Shoegazer over at SSR has hit the sonic nail on its head with this latest swerve into todays burgeoning gaze scene entitled  ‘Gazing Into The Sun’ and we reckon this release is their best one yet. The compilation is out right now and it is available to buy/download from

This compilation fizzes into life with stunning Melbourne based shoegaze aficionados ‘Kigo’ and the shimmering track ‘Never Will’ closely followed by fellow Australian native Skye Klein aka ‘A Beautiful Machine’ with a noisy droning monolith entitled ‘Glow’ lifted off an album released back in 2000 called ‘Solar Winds, White Noise, Antigravity’. Up next, LA based shoegaze trio ‘Swanhoppers’ unleash their brutish fifteen minute plus opus ‘Swimming In An Endless Sea’ the closing track from their recently released album ‘Lutalica’ whilst Swedish based ‘The Beremy Jets’ are well represented here with a blissful track called ‘Feedback Over Talent’ lifted off their album ‘EP Collection 1’. Latvian based ‘Tribes Of The City’ (formerly ‘The Movies’) bring a mixture of music genres to the table from shoegaze/grunge gaze to noise pop with their epic track ‘Sun Is Alive’ while Uruguayan based alt-gaze outfit ‘Tropico Duclos’ have supplied their immense homage to all things Kim Gordon with their track ‘Cancion Para Kim Gordon’.

Sublime Scottish based heavy shoegazers ‘The Cherry Wave’ have been wowing fans of the genre with their no nonsense brand of senses pummelling reverberation for a few years now and they are well represented here with a track lifted off their latest album ‘Shimaru’. The track is called ‘Pure Burst’, it’s absolutely immense and its a recommendation from us. Up next, our good friends ‘Stella Diana’ have donated a stunning track from their recently released album ‘Nitocris’ entitled ‘Aphrodia’ whilst prolific Spanish based alt-pop/shoegazers ‘Linda Guilala’ have supplied their shimmering but noisy track ‘Monstruo’ to the compilation. Stunning Modena based psych-gazers ‘RevRevRev’ have been on our radar for quite a while and they are represented here with the fabulous ‘A Ring Without An End’ lifted from their highly praised 2016 released full album ‘Des Fleurs Magiques Bourdonnaient’. If you don’t know who ‘RevRevRev’ are you should familiarise yourselves with them immediately. They will seriously blow your mind.

Up next, Hackney based alt-dreamgaze trio ‘The Microdance’ unleash the title track from their recently released two track single ‘Get Darker’, a tremulous building affair with explosive vocals whilst Denver based doom-gazers ‘Palehorse/Palerider’ traverse the darker side of the shoegaze spectrum with a track lifted off their latest EP ‘Burial Songs’ entitled ‘Sundowning’.  Minneapolis based psych-gaze collective ‘Dead Gurus’ supply ‘Starlight Sisters’ to this comp, lifted off their immense seven track album ‘Acid Bench’ and it’s closely followed by Spanish based post-gazers ‘MUNIC!’ and a track lifted off their 2015 release ‘Perfect Place’ entitled ‘600 Seconds’. Bordeaux based psych-gaze quartet ‘Blue Bombay’ have donated their hypnotically charged track ‘Puzzle’ to the mix whilst Californian based psych-gazers ‘Sun Colony’ unleash their swirling burgeoning track ‘Heavy Sky’.

UK based space rockers ‘Superdrone’ glide into audible range fixed to explosive percussion, smooth layers of guitar and a vocal track that sounds a bit like Ozzy Osbourne overdoing the vocoder. ‘Everything Is The Same’ is lifted off their latest album ‘Superdrone One’ whilst Peru based ‘La Terminal’ unleash their heavy post-gaze sound with ‘NonXime’, lifted from their debut album ‘Laterminal’. The compilations penultimate track comes from French based drone aficionados ‘Deep In The Ice’ who unfurl the excellent ‘La Belle Èpoque’ whilst the albums closing piece is left to Newcastle based stoner infused psych rock cavillers ‘Cave Suns’ with a track entitled ‘Neptune’. A absolutely marvellous bookend to a masterful selection of tracks.




Del Chaney has spent the last four years dedicating his time to uncovering the best artists in the unsigned or small independent label based shoegaze, ethereal dream pop, post punk, post rock & modern psych rock from all over the globe & reviewing them for this blog – The Primal Music Blog. He is also a contributing  writer for The Sound Of Confusion (Now On Hiatus). His other arm  – Primal Radio –  has gained considerable respect from bands and promoters alike since its conception in 2013 & has helped him in actively promoting a genre of music that he is passionate about. Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, he is a keen Vinyl Collector, Tattoo Fan & all round good guy! He is a self confessed music freak & is never far away from a studio console or a turntable.