THE PRIMAL MUSIC BLOG PODCAST: 15 Tracks You Must Hear - Friday 21st November 2014


As there is no live show this week for RadioAktiv  // Underground i decided to put together a 15 track Podcast showcasing some of the great music that I've found over the past few months from different artists who have either been in touch with the show or that I've found myself. These artists come from all over the globe and i believe that they deserve support from not only me but also from anybody with an interest in what I do here on 'The primal Radio Show'. So below is the podcast playlist. Ive picked 15 tracks that i think you should hear! Ive uploaded them to the Mixcloud page so as you can listen to them on the go!! Theres no innate warbling's from me on this episode, just bloody great music. Enjoy!!!

The Primal Radio Show - 15 Tracks You Really Should Hear Podcast - November

[mixcloud width=660 height=208 hide_cover=1 hide_tracklist=1]


 1) Stella Diana - Edward Teach

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=3508741970 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=2151140]

2) Wozniak - Five Star

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 track=3095418946 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5]

3) Thud - Lime

4) I Am Your Captain - Sharp Intake Of Breath

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=413111365 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=2902758480]

5) Blush Responce - Dead Air

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=3543295145 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=2096252250]

6) Holy Science - Fire Speaks

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=2618128495 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=2577836761]

7) Marbles Jackson - Serenity Prayer

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=1271405048 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=1966429294]

8) Keep - Cry

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=2676708168 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=2154710833]

9) La Casa Al Mare - M

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=3318622798 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=414165617]

10) Luna Ghost - The Sea

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=2358971533 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=677130949]

11) Magic Love - Growing Organism

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=1423107163 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=3612322267]

12) Mt Mountain - Ring Dove

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=3510432503 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=1587742468]

13) Flyying Colours - Like You Said

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=633783633 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=2359106936]

14) Follow The Sea - My Horse Friend

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=579578503 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=1713599828]

15) 93 Million Miles From The Sun - Drinking Bleach

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=2635241100 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=4174972914]





ALBUM REVIEW: Inuit - Don't Forget You're Here Forever (Good Grief Records)


It takes seven songs from start to finish to bring this listener on a rollercoaster of emotions and eventually float back down to earth on a cosmic vapour of happiness. The sometimes ambient, sometimes gaze heavy & sometimes-loud musical tendencies of Glaswegian post-rock/shoegaze outfit ‘INUIT’ demonstrate their innate ability to change the listener’s mood as you listen to their amazing album ‘don’t forget you’re here forever’. Listening to this epic album is like looking out of the window of a train, steaming across country, where every blink of the eye brings you something new to take in and wonder at. It’s a sharp intake of breath in a musical genre full of pretenders these days.

With quiet, almost reflective, sequences of music counterbalanced with gratifying loud explosions of Post-Rock, Shoegaze streaked goodness, this instrumental outfit are well versed in the art of song writing and song crafting and hold nothing back from the listener. They cut close to the bone with atmospherics, gaze laden guitars and add brilliant vocal arrangements during quieter moments thus adding to the already immense power that they can create as musicians. In layman’s terms ‘This is Music’.

The opening track ‘The Staybright’ is in its own right, a creeping monolith of a score that begins with the sweetest of guitar lines, then builds into a monster! This is my favourite track on the album and one that I continuously play on my radio show.

The second track ‘Are you taking pictures of my stories’ is a cinematic masterpiece. Opening like the soundtrack to a natural world documentary and building like a steam train thus bringing the listener to places that they can only go to in daydreams! It’s a beautiful piece of music with pounding drums and a piano line to die for. In my opinion this track is the cornerstone of the album and one to be listened to over and over again.

Track three, ‘Don’t forget’, is two minutes fifty-one seconds of pure gaze. It does just enough to hold you in suspense, and then it takes your hand and helps you float in suspended animation with its addictive vocal lines and hazy guitars. It’s another beautiful track.

Then it’s on to ‘Fraserburg’. This track hits you like a hammer and then it’s off, stalking its prey like a lion on the hunt. It’s alluring vocal line keeps you interested until it takes off like a jet plane with pounding drums and guitars before settling down to finish on a lighter note with soothing guitars and a steady beat. This is my second favourite track on the album, after ‘The Staybright’.

Track five; ‘You’re here forever’ is a side step! It’s a moment of peace to gather yourself and your thoughts before the introduction of track six on this epic album! ‘Get that face off your face’ completely destroys the peaceful respite of before! It starts with a beautiful floating guitar line, leading into a dreamy drum beat, before a wall of sound knocks you off your feet, picks you up and shows you a total eclipse, sonically! It then breaks and calms, into a dreamy vocal as Inuit’s Shoegazing tendencies take over and again we float on layers of guitars and drums until we’re softly placed back on terra firma and into the waiting arms of the albums closing track.

Track seven, and the closing track on ‘Don’t forget you’re here forever’, is immense! Entitled ‘I’m no sun expert,’ it flitters between Post-Rock and Shoegaze with aplomb. It swoops and soars above every other track on the album and is a fitting, closing track to already jam-packed debut album. Ending with a vocal sample of famed physicist Richard Feynman, this track oozes confidence. It stands as a testament to a band with the knowledge of their craft and a clear path forward to continue on the road to success.

[bandcamp width=350 height=470 album=690606288 size=large bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 tracklist=false]

Signed to the brilliant independent record label ‘Good Grief Records’, Inuit have blown me away ever since I first heard of them. They epitomise all that is great and good with the juggernaut that is, the Post-Rock/Shoegazing scene of modern times and I wish them every success going forward. I can’t wait to hear what they do next.


Del Chaney – The Primal Radio Show – Dublin October 2014