ALBUM REVIEW | Follow The Sea - Blue Joy

a2235299513_16ARTIST: Follow The Sea


RELEASE DATE: 25th May 2016

RECORD COMPANY: Häxrummet Records

Stockholm based noisy & experimental psych-gazing duo ‘Follow The Sea’ have returned with their highly anticipated follow up to 2014’s immense four track EP ‘Sibirien’. Comprising of five tracks, ‘Blue Joy’ is peppered with masterful soundscapes each one bringing something sonically different to this modern day musical table. ‘Follow The Sea’ are made up of ‘Erik Solfeldt & Magnus Lilltrollet Lundgren’. Their overall sound drones within layers of blissful reverberation and swirling accumulative fuzz thats circumnavigated by melodically serine vocal progressions and senses pummelling percussive explosions. The album was produced by Niclas Lindgren & Follow the Sea, written by Follow the Sea (Breeze by Niclas Lindgren & Follow the Sea), mastered by Carl Saff, artwork by Erica Anettesdotterr with photos by Erica Anettesdotter & Sara Alf Sökare Eklöf. ‘Blue Joy’  was officially released on the 25th May 2016 via Häxrummet Records and is available to buy/download on various formats from:

‘Blue Joy’ opens up with the blistering ‘Dive’. A swirling drone lays a solid, guiding foundation before we’re introduced to explosive drums and a massive layered wall of driving guitars. It then takes off like a sonic steam train, weaving and bobbing through expansive golden frequencies that are drenched in stunning guitar effects. The reverberating maelstrom of intense noise ebbs and flows through expertly produced & spacious percussive breaks as the tracks melodic vocal line picks its way through the leftovers of the proceeding sonic attack. ‘Dive’ is brilliantly addictive and a stunning opener. Up next, is the albums’s first single! ‘Virhe’ languishes on a bed rock of repetitive sequenced percussive hits as those hazy synth swells and hypnotic guitars swirl around the psychedelically induced but highly melodic vocal track, thus holding it in a kind of sonic stasis as the track meanders expertly on its chosen course.

A driving, distorted guitar progression coupled with another pounding drum pattern announces the arrival of ‘In Time’ and its not long before we’re treated to another impressive vocal display that leads us into a soaring chorus and on into a blissful break before the track explodes into a cacophony of wonderful noise! The growling, opening chords of the albums’s penultimate track entitled ‘Fall’ leans more into noise-rock territory but their is a subtle swathe of psych-rock coursing through its inner core. The vocals wail and the guitars surf through layers of impressive, sequenced synth progressions that are steeped in impressive reverberating joy! The albums’s closing piece chalks in at fifteen minutes plus. ‘Breeze’ floats into the sonic ether on a wave of droning atmospheric synth that builds from its opening notes. The addition of dark creeping guitar swells add to the building intrigue before ‘Breeze’ explodes into a wonderfully hypnotic wall of intense noise. Subtle vocal hits swim within the swirling sonic maelstrom as ‘Follow The Sea’ close out ‘Blue Joy’ with a brilliant slice of stunning experimental psych-gaze. A thoroughly enjoyable ending to a brilliantly executed album.

Recommended Listening!




Del Chaney has spent the last four years not only fronting popular experimental Irish based electronic duo Analogue Wave but also dedicating his time to uncovering the best artists in the unsigned or small independent label based shoegaze, ethereal dream pop, post punk, post rock & modern psych rock from all over the globe & reviewing them for this blog - The Primal Music Blog. He is also a contributing writer for The Sound Of Confusion. His other arm - Primal Radio - has gained considerable respect from bands and promoters alike since its conception in 2013 & has helped him in actively promoting a genre of music that he is passionate about. Hailing from Dublin, Ireland, he is a keen Vinyl Collector, Tattoo Fan & all round good guy! He is a self confessed music freak & is never far away from a studio console or a turntable.

NEW SINGLE PREVIEW: Star Horse - Slower Now (Häxrummet Records)


ARTIST: Star Horse

RELEASE: Slower Now 

RELEASE DATE: 09/06/15

RECORD COMPANY: Häxrummet Records

Swedish shoegazers 'Star Horse' return with an immense new single entitled 'Slower Now' due for release on 9th June 2015 on Häxrummet Records. With an added pre order bonus of a 7' vinyl available alongside the regular digital download format the band have continued on in the same vein as their previous releases by writing & producing seriously addictive shimmering shoegaze soundscapes reminiscent to the heady days of the first wave gazers. The band are made up of Samuel Hemmilä - Drums,  Stas Neilyk - Bass,  Andreas Ryberg - Guitar / Vocals & Maja Thunberg - Guitar / Vocals.  

[bandcamp width=100% height=120 album=2026179558 size=large bgcol=333333 linkcol=e32c14 tracklist=false artwork=small]


'Slower Now' floats on a reverberating sonic cloud of shoegaze swirls infused with dreamopop inspired vocal lines, addictive drum patterns, stunning bass lines & layer upon layer of shimmering guitars. It is simply sublime! 

AUTHOR: Del Chaney.

The single is available to pre order right now via the bands bandcamp page -