EP REVIEW | Andrew Younker - Brainchild

ARTIST: Andrew Younker

RELEASE: Brainchild

RELEASE DATE: 16th December 2016

RECORD COMPANY: Hidden Bay Records

Detroit-based Andrew Younker's created a dreamy collection for what seems to be his debut EP. Out on Toulouse's Hidden Bay Records, Younker self-recorded the five songs in his dorm room. Skillfully fusing acoustic guitar, beats and reverby layers, it's warm and soft like a dreampop duvet. But, that's not all, Younker's got an interesting approach with structure and arrangements that at first seem simple, but closer listening reveals a greater complexity.

The record opens with acoustic guitar providing melody and propulsion, but soon Pink Slip blooms with synth bass, phased drums and some beatiful ambient swells. The song seems to breath in and out. The warbly delay of Being Stuck wraps this wee track up in a warm cosy glow, ahead of the arrival of Brainchild. The EP's title track has a bit more muscle than what we've heard so far. The bass pushes the track along, dropping back and building to a furious finish.

Acoustic guitars layer upon sparkly layer on Dunning-Kruger Effect, and Younker's voice glides along on top. 'I need a melancholy ending', he sings. They Were Only Pictures is a hypnotic beauty, with layers of chiming accoustic guitar weaving woozy melodies, so simple and sixties. A glitchy beat kicks in and brings us bang up to date.

An intriguing start to 2017. Brainchild is available now on tape and download.






In her time, Sarah Cuthbert-Kerr has attended raves and rock clubs. She enjoys pedals, pizza and spy dramas. Sarah also plays guitar in Edinburgh-based noisemakers Wozniak and is co-founder of Morningside Young Team who put on gigs and put out records for discerning audiences who enjoy fuzz and confusion.

NEW SINGLE PREMIERE | Todavía - Fix Myself

LA based multi instrumentalist Rhyan Riesgo aka Todavía typifies why this modern era dream pop/shoegaze scene has dumfounded the critics and lasted as long as it has. She plays all the instruments - (keyboard, guitar, drum triggers, vocals), records, produces, mixes, masters and releases her music from a little bedroom just outside Los Angeles without any label or PR support whatsoever. Her sound swoons effortlessly in a dreamy translucent haze filled with sequenced electronic percussion peppered by hushed synth swells, swirling guitars and shimmering reverberation that all circumnavigates that impressive vocal tone. Her latest single entitled 'Fix Myself' is lifted off the forthcoming full length album 'Shyness', penned in for release later this year and we think it's absolutely gorgeous.

'Fix Myself' ia available to buy/download right now from todaviamusic.bandcamp.com





NEW SINGLE PREMIERE | The Mites - Asphalt Ocean

San Antonio based noisy dream pop quartet 'The Mites' have announced a brand new single entitled 'Asphalt Ocean' lifted off their forthcoming three track EP of the same name. The band fuse riotous, fuzzy guitars with swooning vocals to create a powerful no nonsense brand of dream pop that leans somewhere near alternative rock whilst doffing a well trimmed cap to those early 90's shoegaze sounds. 'Asphalt Ocean' follows on from 2015's five track release 'Bellows' and will be released on 7" vinyl via Painter Man Records in Seattle. If you want to get your hands on the vinyl, pre-orders have now opened via paintermanrecords.bigcartel.com





NEW VIDEO PREMIERE | Human Colonies - Big Domino Vortex


Formed in 2013 between Bologna & Florence, noisy Dosso Del Liri based alt-gazers 'Human Colonies' have just unleashed the stunning lead single entitled 'Big Domino Vortex' (and it's brilliant accompanying video), lifted from their forthcoming seven track debut EP of the same name penned in for release on 23rd January 2016 via MiaCameretta Records & Lady Sometimes Records respectively. Their sound languishes around the fuzzier end of the shoegaze spectrum with driving 90's alternative rock tendencies deftly underscored by melodious swathes of layered reverberation and punchy vocalisations. The band are made up of Giuseppe Mazzoni - vocals/guitar, Sara Telesca - bass & Claudio Palo - drums and 'Big Domino Vortex' follows on from 2015's seven track release 'Calvary'.

'Big Domino Vortex' lurches into earshot on a wave of swirling feedback before exploding into the ether on a bedrock of driving percussion and melodious, throbbing bass frequencies. It's verse progressions swoon as those up front vocal lines ride a fuzzy sonic tidal wave before we're treated to those explosive chorus parts and it's luscious lead lines. Punchy, smooth and to the point 'Big Domino Vortex' only whets the appetite for what's to come on the full EP!